AA’s Male Dominant Culture

“Our Father” was recited at my very first AA meeting. My ears started bleeding. I’d quit going to Catholic church to get away from the male-only God, male-only child (Jesus), and male-only priests. As Mary Daly said, “If God is male, then male is God.” I decided that male dominance goes hand in glove with identifying the Almighty Creator as Male.

… AA’s misogynistic language and culture permit sexual misconduct and sexual crimes to occur. These nearly always go unreported, as though they are almost expected, which is why concern over 13th stepping is rising to the fore, pushed by my friend Monica Richardson. It has to be halted.

For more on this please read my guest column on Stanton Peele’s blog Addiction in Society under “AA’s Male Culture.”

download (1)

STOP 13TH STEPPING:

My FB page against abuse:  https://www.facebook.com/AARMEDwithFacts

My guest column on Psychology Today (via Stanton Peele’s blog):  http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/addiction-in-society/201404/when-aa-hurts

Check out the documentary website/blog by one of my friends:
http://the13thstepfilm.com/ 

2 thoughts on “AA’s Male Dominant Culture

  1. Very well reasoned, thank you. I have heard many times that Dr. Bob Smith argued against ever allowing women in AA, since there was a “slip” under every “skirt”.

    • Thank you so much. It’s a topic I feel strongly about as a woman who looked for help for drinking problems. It’s extremely frustrating to want help and then be given so little! AA is such a male-oriented culture. I felt like an object in the rooms. I didn’t feel like a whole person. AA lacks empathy and it’s sad! I’m hardly being a far leftist feminist by criticizing AA’s neglect of women.

Leave a Reply

